The Headteacher–Governing Body Relationship

15 08 2012

I have experienced the good times and the bad times of a close working relationship with the board of Governors. My favourite time is when we are in harmony and my not so favourite time is when we are at loggerheads. I have witnessed first hand what can happen to the entire school community when this relationship can and does break down, in my eyes it is probably the most significant relationship that needs to be maintained within a school.

The way I have seen it over the years is that this relationship is Symbiotic, to help define this for the readers I have enjoyed researching and reading several different definitions of this. I wonder which one do you think is a best fit of the Headteacher-Governing Body Relationship?

Biological

“the living together of two dissimilar organisms, as in mutualism, commensalism, amensalism, or parasitism”

This is an interesting stance especially the parasitic element, I have heard a few chair of governors be called leeches but some are very nice and I certainly have had none of suck my blood or have stuck so close to me that I have had to burn them off with a lighter.

Psychiatry

“a relationship between two people in which each person is dependent upon and receives reinforcement, whether beneficial or detrimental, from the other.”

I was once told a true story of a chair of governors sadly was going through a nasty divorce and the only person she could confide in was the Head. The Headteacher at a conference was telling me how their weekly meetings for about a year were dominated with discussions on this rather than school improvement. She even attended court to support her, it must have had some effect of her own marriage she got divorced herself 2 months later!

English dictionary

a close and usually obligatory association of two organisms of different species that live together, often to their mutual benefit

I like the word obligatory in this definition as almost the relationship is forced, I wonder though if the mutual benefit part is talking about those more ‘romantic’ relationships where a chair of governors and a Headteacher could find love or lust over their annual improvement plan. I have to clearly state that this has unfortunately never happened to me however it did happen to a good friend of mine.

Medical dictionary

A close, prolonged association between two or more different organisms of different species that may, but does not necessarily, benefit each member.

This definition is perhaps my favourite  especially the part that says it may, but does not necessarily benefit each member. Has this ever been the case for you? Discuss!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment